81.6 F
Washington
Tuesday, July 23, 2024
HomeArtsArt Walk 2024 - Call to Artists

Art Walk 2024 – Call to Artists


Local artists and artisans will display their work in their own micro-galleries, in Capitol Hill home-studios, on porches or in yards. Saturday and Sunday,  September 7 – 8, 2024. Presented by the Capitol Hill Art League (CHAL) and co-sponsored by the Hill Rag and the Capitol Hill Restoration Society (CHRS). Free to both artists and visitors.

Artists must provide a venue on Capitol Hill that is not a commercial gallery or frame shop. Most will have it at their own home or studio, inside, or outdoors on a porch or in the yard, but they may team up with a friend at a shared or “borrowed” location. The event is free; no fees, commissions or tickets. Artists can join the event by registering before August 17, 2024. Details: registration form. If you don’t have work you want to show, but would like to be a stop on the tour, volunteer to host an artist at your address.

If you have questions about this event, please direct them to Elizabeth Nelson at Elizabeth_knits@yahoo.com.

Hill Center at the Old Naval Hospital, 921 Pennsylvania Ave. SE, serves as an art space and community center.  Visitors to the Art Walk are invited to use their rest facilities and enjoy the shows in their galleries.

See the evolving list of artists (below) and  examples of their work.

Name Showing Address Medium To Contact/View
Mike Newman 1523 Constitution Ave. NE (rear) Welding newman.mike@gmail.com
Sarah Buffaloe 1609 A St. NE Ceramics, functional pottery hansaloe.com IG:@hansaloeco
Nguyet Vuong 1609 A St. NE Watercolor IG:@luna.dust.art</a
D’Angela Williams 1336 North Carolina Ave. NE Beaded jewelry IG: @dangelawilliams7
Brenda Chandler 1336 North Carolina Ave. NE Digital & acrylics IG: @bchandler219
TBD 1330 North Carolina Ave. NE
TBD 1326 North Carolina Ave. NE
Erin Thompson 110 Tennessee Ave. NE ink, watercolor (buildings, people) ErinThompsonStudio.com IG:@ErinThompsonStudio
Hannah Wasserman 217 12th St. NE Mixed media hannahw301@gmail.com
Rindy O’Brien 1020 East Capitol St. NE Photography rindyobrien.com
rindyobrien@gmail.com
Nan Raphael 1020 East Capitol St. NE Prints, cards, magnets solopikolo.wixsite.com/website-1
IG:@solopikolo
Steve Mabley 1023 East Capitol St. NE Oil paintings stevemabley.art
IG:@stevemabley
Ellen Murphy 913 East Capitol St. SE Photography larkspur233@gmail.com 
Tara Hamilton 113 10th St. NE (back yard) Framed watercolor paintings, cards www.tarahamiltonart.com
IG:@tara.hamilton.148
Karen Zens 113 10th St. NE (back yard) Paper sculptures, prints, cards karenzens@yahoo.com
IG: Shamusspringer
Anne Albright 113 10th St. NE (back yard) Watercolor&Ink and acrylic www.playsinthepaint.com
IG: playsinthepaint
Kimberly King 113 10th St. NE (back yard)  Oil & Acrylic paintings IG: DesignCat1
Donna Breslin 1000 North Carolina Ave. SE Various donna_breslin@yahoo.com
Alan Braley 241 12th St. SE (rear) Mixed media braleyart.com
Carol Press 217 8th St. SE Fiber/handwoven shawls carolpressscarves.com
Marian Wiseman 213 8th St NE Watercolor wiseman.marian@gmail.com
Ida Mitchell 702 8th St. NE Acrylic on canvas art-ida.com
Larisa Warhol 717 Massachusetts Ave. NE Fiber – woven baskets warholweavings.com IG: warholweavings
Sharon Thomas-Parks 929 E St. NE Mixed media STPsculpture.com info@stpsculpture.com
Hill Center at Old Naval Hospital 921 Pennsylvania Ave SE Rest Facilities hillcenterdc.org
Ed Wilczynski 612 East Capitol St. NE Acrylic, abstract mixed media, sculpture, mobiles ihaddcew@erols.com
Kasse Andrews-Weller 100 5th St. NE Mixed media & ceramics kasseart.com
Syahidah Osman 100 5th St. NE Mixed media syahidahosman.com
Lisa Bernstein 103 5th St. NE Oils LisaBernstein.com
IG: @art_escapes_by_lisa
Maria Victoria Checa 105 5th St. NE Oil, acrylic, watercolor mvChecaArt.com
IG: MVCHECA.art
JoAnn Lamicella Laboy 111 5th St. NE Abstract mixed media joannlaboyart@gmail.com
IG: @joannlaboyart
Sarah Rouse 117 5th St. NE Watercolor, pen & ink sarahrouse@comcast.net
Erin Fleck 411 1/2 5th St. NE Ceramics erin.fleck06@gmail.com
Erik Lang 411 1/2 5th St. NE Wildlife Photography, notecards erikwlang@yahoo.com 
Amy Nevel 630 5th St. NE (rear) Ceramics and crocheted rugs IG:@cottonandmud
Susan Sherman 630 5th St. NE (rear) Ceramics liltz58@gmail.com
Kristin Taddei Jaocbs 418 Seward Square SE Pen-and-ink dprincedesigns.com
IG:@d.prince.designs
Gloria Tseng Fischer 133 Duddington Pl. SE Watercolors GloriaTsengFischer.com IG:@gloriatsengfischer
Carolyn Rondthaler 629 Navy Pl. (was Ellen Wilson Pl.) SE Watercolor carolynrondthaler.com plumgallery.blogspot.com

Related Articles