42 F
Thursday, May 23, 2024
Home​NewsCouncilmember Allen Visits ANC 6A

Councilmember Allen Visits ANC 6A

Advisory Neighborhood Commission (ANC 6A) met via Zoom on March 14. Commissioners Keya Chatterjee (6A01, vice chair), Mike Velasquez (6A02), Roberta Shapiro (6A03), Amber Gove (6A04, chair), Dave Wethington (6A05) and Commissioner Robb Dooling (6A06, secretary) were in attendance. Commissioner Steve Moilanen (6A07, treasurer) was absent.

Ward 6 Councilmember Charles Allen (D) briefed the commission on the DC Council’s upcoming budget. “This is going to be a difficult budget,” Allen. “One of the toughest ones we’ve done in a while.”

Of particular significance is the “massive financial gap” of $200 million needed to preserve the Washington Area Metropolitan Transit Authority (WMATA) bus and rail systems, Allen stated. “Our economy does not work if we don’t have a reliable transit system,” he pointed out.

Commissioner Dooling inquired about the future of funding for the streetcar extension to Benning Rd. NE. Allen “expects that the funding for eastern expansion will be included” in the Mayor’s budget.

The councilmember plans to host a budget town hall meeting later this spring to solicit community feedback. Input from neighbors, he said, is crucial especially with such a challenging budget.

Allen commented on the recently passed Secure DC bill. The legislation provides updated legal definitions for carjacking, coordinates shooting reviews among the District’s agencies, and expands the security camera program, he said.

Allen emphasized “holding people accountable and crime prevention” are his two key goals, He is hopeful the legislation aids in their achievement. “I think we ultimately landed a package that is really going to make a difference in our city,” he stated.

The commission voted to:

  • approve a $1,370 grant to Celebrate Capitol Hill, Inc. to engage neighborhood youth in beautifying activities and public art;
  • support a Board of Zoning Adjustment (BZA) application for a special exception to the rear yard and lot occupancy requirements for the construction of a two-story rear addition to an existing, attached, two-story with cellar, principal dwelling unit at 1432 F St. NE;
  • support a BZA application for a special exception from the rear addition requirements from the lot occupancy requirements to construct a third story and rear addition to an existing, attached, two-story with cellar, principal dwelling unit at 808 I St. NE;
  • support a BZA application for a request an area variance from the lot dimension requirements to construct two new, attached, three-story with basement, principal dwelling units at 257 Warren St. NE with the condition that the developers obtain letters of support from neighbors;
  • approve community members Becca Beuthe and Patrick Bloomstine as members to the Economic Development and Zoning (EDZ) and Transportation and Public Space (TPS) committees, respectively.

The next meeting of ANC 6A is at 7 p.m. April 11 via Zoom. Get details on committee meetings and how to join online at anc6a.org.

Sarah Payne is a reporter for Capital Community News. She can be reached at sarahp@hillrag.com.

Related Articles