47.5 F
Tuesday, May 21, 2024
Home​NewsANC 6C Elects New Officers

ANC 6C Elects New Officers

Advisory Neighborhood Commission (ANC) 6C met Wednesday Jan. 11 via WebEx. Commissioners Christy Kwan (6C01), Leslie Merkle (6C02), Jay Adelstein (6C03), Mark Eckenwiler (6C04), Joel Kelty (6C05), Patricia Eguino (6C06) and Tony Goodman (6C07) were all present at the meeting.

It was the first meeting of the new year and the first or the newly elected Commissioners. As one of their first acts, commissioners elected ANC officers as well as at-large committee members and chairs.

Commissioners voted unanimously to approve the nominations for elected officer positions within in ANC. Commissioner Eckenwiler (6C04) was nominated to serve as the new Chair of the commission, Commissioner Goodman (6C07) was nominated for Vice Chair, Commissioner Kelty (6C05) was nominated for Treasurer and Commissioner Merkle (6C02) was nominated for Secretary.

The commission also voted to unanimously approve both committee and at-large members as well as committee chairs. Former ANC commissioner, Drew Courtney, was appointed to serve as chair of the Alcohol Beverage Licensing (ABL) committee. Steven O’Neil, Graham Grossman and Michael Upright were appointed to serve as the at-large members of the committee.

Joe McCann was appointed to serve as chair of the Environment, Parks and Events (EPE) Committee, while Vira Sisolak, Caitlin LaRocco and Luz Dejesus were appointed to serve as at-large members.

Victoria Lord was appointed to serve as chair of the Grants Committee. Danica Petroshius and Dan Griggs were appointed to serve as the at-large members.

Mark Eckewiler is again chairing the Planning Zoning and Economic Development (PZE) Committee, while Patricia Thomson, Lauren McHale and Mary Albert were appointed to serve as at-large members.

Michael Upright also resumes his role as chair of the Transportation Public Space (TPS) Committee. He, David Abernethy and Mark Kazmierczak were nominated to serve as the at-large members.

The Commissioners Voted Unanimously to:

  • Designate both Commissioners Goodman and Merkle as secondary signatories for ANC checks.
  • Approve the ANC security fund in the amount of $50 for the protection of the ANC’s finances.
  • Approve $75 in funds for each commissioner to purchase business cards.
  • Approve the FY 23 first quarter report for submission to the office of ANCs.
  • Adopt the ABL committee motion not to protest the retailer’s class “C” renewal license for The Ministry (601 New Jersey Ave. NE Suite 102), citing no complaints or comments from the community on the renewal application.
  • Adopt the ABL committee recommendation not to protest the restaurant retailer’s class “C” license for Sidamo Coffee & Tea, Inc. (417 H St. NE) citing no complaints or comments from the community on the renewal.
  • Adopt the ABL committee recommendation to protest the new retailer’s class “C” restaurant license application on all three grounds for Purl (644 H St. NE) in order to establish a settlement agreement (SA) with the establishment. The committee also voted unanimously to designate Graham Grossman as a representative from the ANC.
  • Adopt the TPS committee recommendation to support plaza alterations at Hillsdale College (219-299 Massachusetts Ave. NE).
  • Adopt a TPS committee recommendation to reiterate prior opposition to a 30 inch knee wall at FedEx (300 Maryland Ave. NE).
  • Adopt the TPS committee recommendation to send a letter to the District Department of Transportation (DDOT) Director Everett Lott in response to community concerns that delivery trucks continue to overrun the curb area, creating unsafe conditions for pedestrians. The letter recommending pushing back or eliminating parking on the west side of the street, decreasing the size of the delivery trucks, increase parking enforcement and install physical barriers. Additionally, the commission voted unanimously to present testimony at DC Council oversight hearings as the curb overruns are creating an unsafe environment.
  • Adopt the committee recommendation to present testimony at the upcoming council performance oversight hearings on the Department of Buildings (DOB) regarding concerns with certificates of occupancy and construction permits that are incompatible with zoning regulations. The committee also voted unanimously that Eckenwiler be authorized to present testimony on behalf of the ANC.
  • Adopt the PZE committee recommendation to authorize Kelty to serve as co-designee before the Board of Zoning Adjustment (BZA) concerning 401 K St. NE which the ANC previously reviewed in Oct.
  • Designate former ANC 6C Commissioner Christine Healey to participate in meetings regarding the Union Station Expansion Project.

Other Matters:

  • Commissioners voted 6-0 with one abstention from Commissioner Eguino due to internet connectivity issues, to adopt the Grants Committee recommendation to approve $4,000 in funds for Capitol Hill Montessori PTSO Urban Food Forest. The funds will primarily be used for supplies and the constriction of a garden shed to store tools.
  • Commissioners voted 5-0 with two abstentions from Commissioners Eguino and Kelty, to adopt the Grants Committee recommendation to provide $10,000 in funding to the Stuart-Hobson Middle School auditorium renovation project. The funds will primarily be used to help repair walls and repaint the auditorium. Kelty said while he wants to be supportive of the project he abstained due to the root cause of the auditorium’s disrepair. “I just have such an issue with the District government failing to maintain their facilities and relying on charitable donations,” Kelty said.

Meeting Schedule

ANC 6C will meet on the second Wednesday of each month throughout the year. These dates include Jan. 11, Feb. 8, March 8, April 12, May 10, June 14, July 12, Sept. 13, Oct. 11, Nov. 8 and Dec. 13. The commission will not meet in Aug. due to a scheduled recess.

The commission will conduct meetings using WebEx, and information about how to access both monthly and committee meetings can be found at (anc6c.org).

Sarah Payne is a general assignment reporter for Capital Community News. She can be reached at sarahp@hillrag.com.

Related Articles