65.3 F
Friday, June 14, 2024
Home​NewsANC 6A04 Recall Election This Sunday

ANC 6A04 Recall Election This Sunday

The DC Board of Elections (DCBOE) will hold a Special Recall Election for Advisory Neighborhood Commission (ANC) Single Member District (SMD) 6A04 Sunday, Oct. 23 from 1 p.m. to 5 p.m.

Eligible voters currently living in ANC 6A04 will vote on whether to recall incumbent 6A04 Commissioner Amber Gove from office for the remainder of her term (November and December 2022). [Find your 2022 ANC]

Voting takes place Sunday from 1:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m. in the large meeting room at the Northeast Library (330 Seventh St. NE) and in the parking lot at Maury Elementary School (1250 Constitution Ave NE, entrance 12th Place NE; curbside voting available).

The recall was originally scheduled to be on the Nov. 8 ballot together with the election for a new commissioner who will take office in January 2023. The vote was rescheduled, evidently to avoid confusion.

Gove is also on the November ballot, running to represent 6A04 against challenger Alexandra Kelly. Kelly authored the recall petition.

Voters living within the boundaries of the current ANC 6A04 can vote in the recall Sunday, Oct. 23 (purple map). The boundaries change as of January 2023; residents living in the boundaries of the lower (green) map may vote for their preferred candidate to represent ANC 6A04 starting in January. Image: DCBOE. Find your 2023 ANC

The petition for recall submitted to DC Board of Elections (DCBOE) is focused on Gove’s support for the District Department of Transportation (DDOT) plans for a protected bike lane and traffic changes on the 1300 block of North Carolina Avenue NE. The plans were considered in multiple ANC 6A meetings and supported unanimously by all eight commissioners.

In the petition, residents involved wrote that there was insufficient discussion of the changes adding that they felt the views of affected residents were not given sufficient consideration. They said they were not informed about meetings with sufficient notice and that Gove did not hold DDOT accountable for responding to their questions.

In her response to the petition, Gove said residents were misrepresenting the process because they did not like the outcome, pointing to the unanimous support for the plans on the ANC. She also listed her efforts to communicate the plans and notice multiple meetings.

People living on the blocks listed below can still vote on the recall.  They cannot vote for the next 6A04 commissioner when they vote in November.

  • Warren Street, 14th Street, and 14th Place between C Street and Constitution Avenue
  • North side of Constitution Avenue between Tennessee Avenue and 14th Place
  • North side of North Carolina Avenue from 14th Place to 15th Street
  • West side of 15th Street between North Carolina Avenue and C Street
  • South side of C Street between Tennessee Avenue and 15th Street
  • East side of Tennessee Avenue between Constitution Avenue and C Street

This election will only be conducted in-person; absentee ballots will not be available. Paper ballots are available at both locations. Curbside voting is available at Maury Elementary; electronic voting is available at the Northeast Library.

ANCs are a non-partisan body of elected officials that represent local community members.

Commissioners serve two-year terms without pay. All commissioners in all wards are up for election this year. Each commissioner represents a Single Member District (SMD) of approximately 2,000 residents. The ANCs’ main role in the District is to be the official voice in advising the District government (and Federal agencies such as the Capitol Fine Arts Commission) on matters that affect their neighborhoods.

If you have questions or need additional information, please contact DCBOE at (202) 727-2525 or email voterservices@dcboe.org.

Related Articles