53.3 F
Saturday, April 13, 2024
Home​NewsTravel to 27 States Requires Quarantine

Travel to 27 States Requires Quarantine

Mayor Muriel Bowser (D) issued a Mayor’s Order on Monday, July 27. The order names 27 ‘high-risk states’ and requires residents to self-quarantine for 14 days after non-essential travel to any on the list. 

First announced at her Friday, July 24 situational update, the order goes into effect Monday, July 27. The list (below) includes locations where the seven-day moving average of daily new COVID-19 cases is ten or more more per 100,000 people. 

The order is effective until October 9, although Bowser said it could be “dialed back” based on COVID-19 trends. This particular list of states is in effect until Monday, August 10, when an updated list will be posted on coronavirus.dc.gov.

Travel to and from Maryland and Virginia is exempt from the Order.

The order comes as the District experiences an apparent uptick in community spread. DC Health announced they will pause the community spread count temporarily to increase the lag time in data reporting to four days to account for the slow return of test results.

“The community spread chart is subject to fluctuation because the data is based on symptom onset date,” said the Mayor’s office in a press release. “As national demand for testing increases and results take longer to come back in DC and across the country, DC Health has identified a need to increase the reporting lag time by four days to reduce volatility in the data.”

Sustained decrease in cases within the community. Numbers have been increasing since about mid-June. Courtesy: EOM

While acknowledging the difficulty given the large number of commuters coming from those states, Councilmember Elissa Silverman (I) said the exclusion was ‘troubling’ given areas with high levels of COVID-19 transmission. “It seems we could have specified cities in MD and VA identified as hotspots to get at Ocean City,” she wrote in a tweet.

High-risk states that require 14 days of self-quarantine:

  1. Arkansas
  2. Arizona
  3. Alabama
  4. California
  5. Delaware
  6. Florida
  7. Georgia
  8. Idaho
  9. Iowa
  10. Kansas
  11. Louisiana
  12. Mississippi
  13. Missouri
  14. Montana
  15. Nebraska
  16. Nevada
  17. New Mexico
  18. North Carolina
  19. North Dakota
  20. Ohio
  21. Oklahoma
  22. South Carolina
  23. Tennessee
  24. Texas
  25. Utah
  26. Washington
  27. Wisconsin

As of July 26, DC reported 78 new positive cases of COVID-19, and one death. There have been 11,858 total positive cases of COVID-19 and 582 District residents have lost their lives due to the disease.

Learn more about the Mayor’s Order and see day-by-day data by visiting coronavirus.dc.gov

Related Articles