ANC 6B Elects New Chair

Brian Ready Elected by Acclamation

Commissioners Brian Ready (6B03) and Chander Jayaraman (6B08) laugh after the former is elected Chairperson of ANC 6B Jan. 14, 2020. Jayaraman was a candidate for At-Large Councilmember later in the year.

At the January 14th meeting of Advisory Neighborhood Commission (ANC) 6B, commissioners elected Brian Ready (6B03) by acclamation to serve as the new Chair.

Outgoing Chair Chander Jayaraman said that he did some research prior to the election, and that Ready could be the first African-American chair of ANC 6B.

Ready ran unopposed in November 2018 to represent Single Member District (SMD) 6B03 as commissioner. The area had been represented by James Loots since 2012.

Ready moved from Las Vegas to Capitol Hill four years ago citing the neighborhood’s long history and diversity of community, arts and culture. He has a background in hospitality and law and volunteering at The Townhomes on Capitol Hill.

Commissioner Kelly Waud (L, 6B07) will serve as Parliamentarian while Cory Holman (c, 6B06) will continue in his role as Treasurer. Kirsten Oldenburg (6B04), a former Chairperson herself, is pictured to the right.

During the election, Ready said he is passionate about promoting affordable housing, ensuring that the neighborhood is safe, and strengthening the diversity of the community. He has chaired the Barracks Row Working Group for the past year, working to help find ways to increase visibility and marketability of the businesses along Eighth Street SE.

Jayaraman (6B08), who announced his candidacy for the At-Large DC Council seat that will be vacated by Independent David Grosso in 2020, will serve as Vice-Chair.

The commission elected a full slate of officers at the meeting. Other officers include Commissioner Gerald Sroufe (6B02), elected Secretary in absentia. Commissioner Corey Holman (6B06) will continue to serve as Treasurer, while Commissioner Kelly Waud (6B07) will take over as Parliamentarian.

ANC 6B has been working to update its website. You can visit the new page, learn about Commissioners and committees, and subscribe to the newsletter by visiting