ANC 6B Will Elect New Chair in 2020

Chander Jayaraman Will Not Serve Another Term

ANC 6B Chair Chander Jayaraman offers remarks during the 2019 Capitol Hill Holiday Tree Lighting ceremony.

At the Dec. 10th meeting of Advisory Neighborhood Commission (ANC) 6B Chander Jayaraman (6B08) announced that he will not continue to serve as chair into the next calendar year.

First elected as a commissioner in 2012, Jayaraman previously served as Chair in 2017.

At the meeting he said that he was stepping aside to allow other commissioners a chance to take the role. He will continue to serve in his role as commissioner as he campaigns.

In October, Jayaraman announced that he would run for the Independent At-Large seat on DC Council currently occupied by David Grosso. Grosso announced that he would not seek re-election in the Nov. 3, 2020 election. Ward 8 State Board of Education (SBOE) representative Markus Batchelor declared his candidacy in September.

The ANC will elect a new executive at the January 2020 meeting.

Learn more about ANC 6B by visiting