ANC 6A Report

January 2019


Chair Phil Toomajian (6A02) called the Advisory Neighborhood (ANC) 6A meeting to order at Miner Elementary School, 601 15th St. NE, with Commissioners Brian Alcorn (6A08), Stephanie Zimny (6A06), Amber Gove (6A04), Sondra Phillips-Gilbert (6A07), Ruth Ann Hudson (6A05) and Mike Soderman (6A03) in attendance. Commissioner Marie Claire Brown (6A01) was absent.

Election of Commission Officers
With unanimous support, Amber Gove will take over as Chair of the commission with Phil Toomajian as Vice Chair, Mike Soderman as Secretary and Brian Alcorn as Treasurer. For committee chairs and contact information, visit

Controversy Over Former Nursing Housing into Luxury Condominiums
Currently, 201 8th St. NE consists of a vacant medical office building that was originally many small residential units to house nursing staff for the nearby hospital and a surface parking lot. The developer’s plan is to create five, large luxury condo units, one per floor in the existing building as a matter of right, and use part of the property’s parking lot to construct four additional condos within two new townhouses. As a practical matter, the old main entrance of existing building must be preserved, as it is the primary architectural detail of the front of the building. However, due to a number of fire, safety and accessibility regulations the two means of egress must be a distance apart. Thus the proposal agreed to by Historic Preservation Office (HPO) and the developer, is to have the new primary entrance located down an existing alleyway off of Constitution Avenue through the east side of the building. Per Commissioner Soderman, several neighbors including retired Senator Bill Nelson, who lives in the adjacent property on Constitution Avenue, object to having the entrance so close to their properties. The developer has pledged to do what is possible to minimize associated noise with people entering and exiting the building. The Economic Development and Zoning Committee recommended approval conditional upon the developer agreeing to relinquish Residential Parking Permits (RPP) but the developer claims this is unfair, not legally enforceable and would therefore not agree to it. Commissioner Toomajian pointed out these agreements are common in ANC6A and have functioned well at other properties. The commission struggled to develop a motion with respect to a letter of support. Ultimately the motion was to send a letter of support to the Historic Preservation Board (HPRB), which failed by a vote of 3 to 4 with Commissioners Gove, Zimny and Phillips-Gilbert voting in favor and Commissioners Toomajian, Alcorn, Hudson and Soderman against. There will be no letter sent from the ANC in either opposition or support to the HPRB.

New Business

  • The commissioners voted, unanimously, to send a letter of support to the Board of Zoning Adjustment (BZA) for special exceptions from the lot occupancy requirements and the rear yard setback requirements to construct a rear deck addition to an existing attached principal dwelling unit at 1210 Maryland Ave. NE (BZA #19893).
  • The commissioners voted, unanimously, to send a letter to the District Department of Transportation (DDOT) conveying a petition requesting resident-only parking signs for the 1000 block of F Street NE and the 800 block of 8th Street NE.
  • The commissioners voted, unanimously, to send a letter to DDOT in support of the establishment of No-Turn-On-Red restrictions at the intersection of Constitution Avenue NE, 13th Street NE and Tennessee Avenue NE as well as the intersection of Maryland Avenue NE, 15th Street NE, Benning Road NE, Bladensburg NE and H Street NE.

Transportation and Public Space Actions

  • The commissioners voted, unanimously, to send letter of support to the DDOT Public Space Committee to allow Duffy’s Irish Pub (1016 H St. NE), to operate a sidewalk café conditioned on the applicant’s agreement to operate during agreed upon hours, to make reasonable efforts to contain noise within the sidewalk café, to only use the space for food and drink service, to use moveable chairs and tables that shall be moved to an interior patio when not in use, to ensure no trash container of any sort will be on public space, to regularly maintain the adjacent tree boxes and to keep the all areas in front of the business and within the sidewalk café clean.
  • The commissioners voted, unanimously, though Commissioner Toomajian recused himself citing conflicts with his employment, to send a letter to Congresswoman Eleanor Holmes Norton, Mayor Muriel Bowser, D.C. Council Chair Phil Mendelson, Ward 6 Councilmember Charles Allen, and all At-large Councilmembers joining Councilmember Allen in opposition to a new NFL stadium on the RFK campus site.

Alcohol Beverage Licensing Actions

  • The commissioners voted, unanimously, to protest the request by Dynamix Lounge (1220 H St. NE) to extend its hours of operation, sale of alcohol, and live entertainment on Fridays from 2:00 am to 3:00 am closing time and opening at 11:00 am Sunday instead of 12:00 pm.

Single Member District (SMD) Reports
Commissioner Gove encouraged residents to use the interactive map created as part of DDOT’s Vision Zero initiative to record traffic incidents. This map can be found by visiting She also thanked Atlast Vet for hosting a recent Community Clean Up which are held the first Saturday of each month. Additional information can be found by visiting the community calendar page of

Commissioner Toomajian shared that DDOT will be conducting safe routes to school studies as part of the Vision Zero initiative around School Within School and Ludlow-Taylor Elementary.


Visit for calendar of events, changes of date/venue, agendas and other information.