The Jazz Project


Mueve Tu Cuerpo •••
Denny Jiosa, guitar
Four-time Grammy nominee Denny Jiosa crafts an upbeat Latin-influenced, jazz-rooted album of energizing layers of exotic Latin percussion. Mueve Tu Cuerpo creates lusty rhythms and sensual grooves, blending with jazz rhythms, lines and harmonies. Mr. Jiosa’s deft fretwork establishes and maintains a commanding presence throughout the recording.

More than just sultry enticements to body movement or coaxing emotional responses, the music also transmits meaningful messages. “Missing You” ruminates on the absence of Mr. Jiosa’s loved ones who have passed. Alluring and mystical, “Dance In Heaven” contains the gut string guitarwork of multiple Grammy nominee Phil Keaggy. The festive, gospel-funk cut “Selah, Love Each Other,” featuring drummer Chester Thompson (Genesis, Frank Zappa), pays tribute to the musician’s late bassist, Chris Kent. John Santos contributes lead vocals to “Freedom Tower,” a song about the historic Miami structure that still stands as a landmark for Cubans who fled to the US in the 1960s and were processed at that location.

Redemption •••
Sam Rucker, saxophonist
Redemption offers Sam Rucker’s rich blend of jazz, hip hop, and the triumphant faith of gospel and its inspiration of love and freedom. The album features the late guitarist Justin Taylor with John Calisto, also on guitar.

Erik Jekabson Sextet •••
Erik Jekabson, trumpet
Trumpeter Erik Jekabson spent nearly five months composing new music inspired by places, events, moods and ideas while going about his San Francisco Bay Area life. The voice of his trumpet is well-served by guitarist Dave Macnab, saxophonist Dave Ellis, drummer Hamir Atwal and bassist John Wiitala, and seven-time Grammy-nominated percussionist John Santos.

Bay of Rainbows •••
Jakob Bro, guitar
Jakob Bro’s trio with bassist Thomas Morgan and drummer Joey Baron, crafted an album recorded live in New York City over two nights at the Jazz Standard. Bay of Rainbows is thoroughly idiomatic, possessed of exceptionally cleaned fingerwork and articulation and rich in subtleties and expressive contemplative nuances.

Where The River Goes •••
Wolfgang Muthspiel
Austrian guitarist Wolfgang Muthspiel’s latest album is lyrical and passionate and has plenty of fiery temperament expressed in music of rippling complexity, soaring to declamatory heights before resuming in quiet ecstasy. You will find a stylistic consistency and aplomb that make you realize the mastery of these musicians, namely Ambrose Akinmusire (trumpet), Brad Mehldau (piano), Larry Grenadier (double bass), and Eric Harland (drums).

All About That Basie ••••
Count Basie Orchestra
All About That Basie from Concord Jazz was produced by eight-time Grammy award winning producer and former Basie drummer Gregg Field under the direction of Scotty Barnhart. This historic release celebrates the iconic band from its earliest years, throughout the decades with Frank Sinatra and Ella Fitzgerald, and through to today’s contemporary artists.

To help accomplish that mission, Mr. Barnhart and Mr. Field put together an amazing array of guest talent that includes multi-Grammy winning jazz vocal group Take 6, jazz singer Kurt Elling, organist Joey DeFrancesco, trombonist Wycliffe Gordon, trumpeter Jon Faddis, Basie band alumni vocalists Carmen Bradford and Jamie Davis and Stevie Wonder.